An Autumn Twist

Autumn seems to have come to us late this year and suddenly we are in the full glory of this season. It is one of my favourite seasons without a doubt. But we still have to go a little more carefully as it’s a changing season and the subtleties of that will have an effect on us – and often on our health.DSC_0100

This Autumn I have been very drawn to twists! In my own practice I find myself adding a twist to wherever I am! But for the sake of keeping it simple, I’m going to offer you a little standing twist sequence. Standing postures are great for Autumn as well, as they keep us grounded and connected to the Earth.

I hope you enjoy this sequence. It isn’t necessary a stand alone practice. It would be a great idea to do a few warm ups, working on the hips, shoulders and spine in particular. You may also like to use a block for some of this (I forgot to mention this in the video), placing the blocks under the hand for the twist and under both hands for the forward fold. Please modify any part of the practice you feel you need to in order to stay comfortable and safe.

Enjoy – and let me know how you get on!

Background music is Monday by Ludovico Einaudi

Leave a comment